Skip to main content


SAP logo

The South Asia Program (SAP) serves as an interdisciplinary hub for Cornell students, faculty, staff, community members, and academic visitors. The U.S. Department of Education has designated SAP as a National Resource Center for South Asia, in a consortium with the South Asia Center at Syracuse University, one of just eight in the United States.

Our mission is to:

  • Offer a comprehensive curriculum of undergraduate and graduate education on historical and contemporary South Asia.

  • Enable the circulation of ideas among an international community of South Asia scholars.
  • Encourage connections among faculty and students from South Asian institutions and Cornell University.
  • Provide a wider public exposure to South Asia through lectures, conferences, exhibitions, publications, and performances.
  • Mobilize resources at Cornell and externally, to support these efforts.

SAP has more than 50 affiliated faculty from across Cornell’s colleges and schools, working in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. We offer 11 South Asian languages: Bengali, Hindi, Nepali, Pali, Persian, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Sinhala, Tamil, Tibetan, and Urdu.

SAP does not offer any degrees or certificates, although we support undergraduate South Asian Studies majors and minors in the Department of Asian Studies, and graduate students throughout the campus. SAP supports the Global Cornell initiative to expand multicultural knowledge and international understanding across the Cornell community. SAP facilitates campus activities about South Asia and promotes overseas learning opportunities.

SAP sponsors a weekly seminar series with presentations by world-class scholars. We also host conferences and workshops organized by Cornell faculty and students. We partner with Cornell student organizations to bring South Asian musicians, dancers and other artists for campus performances. Our outreach program provides training on South Asia to educators at K-12 schools, community colleges, and schools of education in central New York.

Please contact us at or visit our office, 170 Uris Hall, in the Mario Einaudi Center for International Studies, for more information.