Skip to main content

SEA Digital Library Undergraduate Paper Award

January 31, 2024

The Southeast Asia Digital Library Paper Award seeks papers from undergraduates concerning original research in Southeast Asian Studies. The first-place winner will receive their choice of two books from the Cornell University Press catalog. Both first- and second-place winning papers will be published on the Southeast Asia Digital Library (


Applicant Eligibility

Applicants must be current undergraduate students at Southeast Asia Digital Library (SEADL) affiliated institutions* at the time of submission. Applicants must agree that, should they win, their papers will be made openly accessible and published online on SEADL

Paper Eligibility

Eligible papers must be within the field of Southeast Asia Studies and reference primary source materials. Papers may be written for a class or independent study within the past three academic years: Spring 2021 - Spring 2024. Papers must be between 2,000 and 10,000 words, excluding references.

Evaluation Criteria

Winning papers will demonstrate the student's ability to support original research with analysis of primary source materials. Papers that reference materials held in SEADL collections will be given increased consideration. 

Submission Materials

Submission packets should include a cover page containing the paper title, author name, author email, institutional affiliation, and date. Papers should be submitted as a separate PDF document listing only the title. No author information should be included in the paper itself to allow for blind evaluation

Email submission packets to by June 7, 2024

*SEADL Affiliated Institutions: 

Arizona State University; The City University of New York; Columbia University; Cornell University; Duke University; Harvard University; Indiana University, Bloomington; King’s University College at Western University; McGill University; Michigan State University; Northern Illinois University; Ohio University; The State University of New York; Université de Montréal; Université Laval; University of British Columbia; University of California, Berkeley; University of California, Los Angeles; University of Hawai’i at Manoa; University of Michigan; University of Saskatchewan; University of Toronto; University of Victoria; University of Washington; University of Wisconsin-Madison; Yale University; York University

Additional Information