Skip to main content

The Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) Program

Application Timeframe: Fall
Southeast Asia Program Home Banner


The Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) Program is a program of the U.S. Department of State that enables American students enrolled at U.S. colleges and universities to intensively learn a language while experiencing cultural immersion.  The program lasts from 8 to 10 weeks and includes intensive language instruction of one of 15 critical languages and cultural enrichment experiences aimed at promoting rapid language study. Participants are expected to continue learning a new language after the program finishes and apply newly gained language skills in their professional careers.


Must be a U.S. citizen or national and if undergraduate, complete at least one full year of study.

Additional Information

Funding Type

  • Language Study Grant


  • Student